Thanks be to the Lord.

Thanksgiving

I’d like to say that I am thankful for what God has done with this blog and what He continues to do with it. I am thankful for the life I have, the people I have in my life, the roof over my head, the education I have, the list could go on and on. Now let me ask what are you thankful for?

Today was a special day, in fact it was a holiday, and to be more specific it was Thanksgiving. Did you give thanks today? I know I did and I continue to as the day comes to an end. I think it is important to give thanks even when it is not a holiday.

As the smell of fresh cooked food filled the air of my house I couldn’t help but separate myself from my family and just meditate on God. I couldn’t help but sit  in my room and just praise God, to thank Him for what He has provided and what He continues to provide.

Our God is so good; you know that? I spent some time in the Word, in prayer, in worship and in literature inspired by God. It was great to step back and just spend time today with the Creator of my life, to just thank Him.

I hope you all had a blessed Thanksgiving; I hope you filled yourself with all the yummy food and that you had great conversations to go along with that food.

I’d like to just take a moment now and share a few verses with you out of the Bible. Some of these verses are from what I have read in the past week and others just from previous devotions and readings. I pray that as you read them that the Lord speaks into your heart, no matter where you are give thanks to the Lord for He is good!

Give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you. (1 Thessalonians 5:18 ESV)

Oh give thanks to the Lord, for he is good, for his steadfast love endures forever! (Psalm 107:1 ESV)

And let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, to which indeed you were called in one body. And be thankful. Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly, teaching and admonishing one another in all wisdom, singing psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, with thankfulness in your hearts to God. And whatever you do, in word or deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him. (Colossians 3:15-17 ESV)

Let us come into his presence with thanksgiving; let us make a joyful noise to him with songs of praise! (Psalm 95:2 ESV)

These are just a few verses that I have read over today and this week. I encourage you to read over these verses more and to also go and spend time in The Word.

Lastly, I pray for everyone who is traveling tonight and tomorrow during black Friday sales stay safe. Love you guys! God bless you today and the days to come.

Leave a comment