I’ll keep you in my prayers.

Day #8

“A Christian who does not pray is like a man who does not breathe; they cannot survive.” Martin Luther King, Jr.

Be honest with yourself, how is your prayer life? Do you take time out of your day to spend with God in prayer? If you don’t, why don’t you? As Christians we need to spend time in prayer and communication with the Lord. Prayer allows us to build our relationship with the one who created us; it allows us to cast our cares on the one who cares for us. No prayer is too big or too small; God can handle all prayers.

Prayer is a topic that is talked about frequently on this blog. You can find prayer in each of the following posts, In the presence of my Creator! / Prayer. / It’s time to step off the boat.

As a Christian I strongly believe that prayer is a necessity for our daily lives. Prayer allows us to grow closer to God in our relationship with Him; it shows our obedience to Him and how we want to actively pursue Him. Something that I wrote in a previous post stuck out to me while reading todays devotion; our culture tends to use the phrase I’ll keep you in my prayers, but are we really keeping that person in our prayers? Or are we just handing out empty promises? As Christians we need to establish a time of prayer everyday so that we can be in communion with the Lord and then we can say things like “I’ll keep you in my prayers” and actually mean it.

“Just like any other conversation with someone you love, prayers an intimate time of communication when we truly get to learn about one another. And although God already knows everything there is to know about us, prayer is given to us as a gift to learn about Him.” Jarrid Wilson

When we spend time in prayer we aren’t letting our minds speak, but we are opening up our hearts and showing our true selves to the one who created us. I really like that quote from Jarrid Wilson, it lets us understand more about what prayer is and why we need it and do it. Prayer isn’t about us; it is about the ability to learn more about God.

One day I did just that; I opened up my heart and was in communion with the Lord for a solid 30 minutes and when I was done praying I was speechless. I was speechless because coming from my busy life I was now still and in the presence of the Lord I no longer had to worry about what I needed to do next. While in prayer I could feel that it wasn’t me speaking but it was the Holy Spirit in me working to allow me to communicate with my Heavenly Father. I will never forget that day and how amazing God is and always will be.

“Be still, and know that I am God. I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth!” Psalm 46:10

I encourage you to take some time out of your busy day and spend time with the Lord. As the scripture says “Be still, and know that I am God.” I think to often we take such things for granted and say that we know God but in reality we have no idea who He is. If your relationship with the Lord is struggling and you don’t know where to go; I encourage you to go spend time in prayer, run towards the cross because God is waiting for you and He loves you so much!

One response to “I’ll keep you in my prayers.

Leave a Reply

