Surrendering is obedience in action.

Day #7

Today’s devotion was very short in length but yet it was deep in meaning and was very similar to the devotion of obedience. I believe that in order for us to surrender our lives to the Lord we must also be obedient to Him.

In order to surrender to the Lord we must be all in or not at all, there is no partial surrendering to the Lord. Just like there is no partial obedience because then that is disobedience. Surrendering is obedience in action. I think of both surrendering and obedience as being two sides of the same coin, without one there is not the other.

Being able to come boldly before the Lord and surrender our lives to Him shows that we have obedience towards Him. Showing obedience allows us to be set a part from others and to be different in all that we do.

“Submit yourselves, then, to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you.” James 4:7

To better understand James 4:7 Id like to share what I have found while reading Dr. Constable’s notes. Dr. Constable says, “Toward God we must submit in humility. This means making what is of importance to Him important to us, ordering our priorities in harmony with God’s priorities. It means not living to fulfill our personal ambitions but using our lives to fulfill His desires. Submission is not identical to obedience. Submission involves the surrender of the will that results in obedience.” To me this passage from his study notes describes exactly how I see surrender. We need to submit ourselves to the Lord, making His priorities our priorities, living to fulfill His desires for us, and surrendering our lives, which results in our obedience to Him.

Jarrid Wilson asks the reader three questions and I feel like these questions are important and allow use to see where we are at, in a life of surrender and obedience.

Question 1: Are you truly a Christ follower?

Question 2: Can you honestly call yourself a Christian?

Question 3: Have you truly surrendered your life at His feet?

When I read these questions I originally thought yeah they were easy to answer, but then I thought more about them and as Christians we really need to evaluate ourselves. We need to understand what it really means to surrender to the Lord. Without surrendering our lives we cannot live in obedience to Him.

“He calls us to surrender, invites us to follow, empowers us to serve, and than blesses our obedience.” Life Action Ministries 

To end this devotional post I want to share with you the song entitled “I surrender” by Hillsong Live. God bless.

__________________________

Check out:

30 Words Book

Cornerstone Album

28 responses to “Surrendering is obedience in action.

  1. Love your blog! You are right that we have similar passions in our blogs (www.other-words.net). Thank you for sharing this!

  2. I was listening to that song before I went to bed, glory be to God.

  3. I’d been recommended your blog by means of my personal cousin. We’re not selected regardless of whether this informative article is written via your ex when no one realize this kind of qualified around my own issues. That you are incredible! Thanks!

  4. Pingback: Because He first showed us great compassion. | I am called to be...™

  5. Does your website have a contact page? I’m having problems locating it but, I’d like to send
    you an e-mail. I’ve got some recommendations for your blog
    you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great website and I look forward to seeing it develop over
    time.

  6. I was wondering if you ever thought of changing the layout of your site?
    Its very well written; I love what youve got to say. But maybe you could a little more
    in the way of content so people could connect with it better.

    Youve got an awful lot of text for only having one or 2 images.

    Maybe you could space it out better?

  7. Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as
    though you relied on the video to make your point.
    You clearly know what youre talking about, why waste
    your intelligence on just posting videos to your weblog when you
    could be giving us something enlightening to read?

  8. Wonderful blog! Do you have any tips for aspiring writers?
    I’m hoping to start my own site soon but I’m a little lost on everything.

    Would you suggest starting with a free platform
    like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so
    many choices out there that I’m completely overwhelmed .. Any tips?

    Thank you!

    • Some advice I would give is what others have passed down to me. Write often, use proper tags, link to other sites, share with friends and family! Hope that helps. Also I would recommend going the FREE route to start then go the paid route!

  9. Hello, i think that i saw you visited my web site so i came
    to “return the favor”.I am trying to find things to enhance my website!I suppose its ok to use some of your
    ideas!!

  10. Sweet blog! I found it while surfing around on Yahoo News.

    Do you have any tips on how to get listed in Yahoo News?
    I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to
    get there! Cheers

  11. I have to thank you for the efforts you have put in
    penning this site. I’m hoping to see the same high-grade content by you in the future as well.

    In truth, your creative writing abilities has motivated me
    to get my very own blog now 😉

  12. Hello! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to give
    a quick shout out and tell you I truly enjoy reading your articles.

    Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that deal with
    the same subjects? Thanks a ton!

  13. I visit daily some web pages and websites to read posts, but this webpage
    gives feature based content.

  14. Valuable information. Lucky me I found your web site by chance, and I’m shocked why this twist
    of fate did not came about in advance! I
    bookmarked it.

  15. Thanks for some other wonderful article. Where else
    could anyone get that kind of information in such an ideal manner of writing?

    I have a presentation subsequent week, and I’m
    at the look for such info.

    • I honestly can’t think of that many other sites off the top of my head. I am sorry but feel free to check out the blogs I follow on the right side column at the top to see what the other blogs have to say!

Leave a Reply

