My hope is found in the Lord.

Day #6

“Today is a day to focus on the hope that God has purposed for your life. It is the day to break away from the lies of Satan and to realize you are purposed for a life with God. Don’t let the opinions of people interfere with the directions given to you by God.” – Jarrid Wilson

I wanted to start todays post off with that portion of the devotion that Jarrid wrote. To me this brief paragraph summarizes the whole devotion. I think that we should be focusing on the hope that God has purposed for us everyday. Even when we wake up upset or are just having a bad day we should always be focusing on this hope.

Something that caught my eye while I read todays devotion was when Jarrid says, “it is the day to break away from the lies of Satan”. Yesterday I was unable to make it to church so I stayed home and watched a sermon from a few weeks ago it was teaching on the being “Grateful for Grace”. The message was very catchy and made you think about a lot of different things that the pastor was saying but one thing he said that connects so well to this devotion post is that “Satan knows our name but calls us by our sin. Jesus knows our sin but calls us by our name.”

What my pastor said hit me like a freight train. It clicked. I had a new understanding for why I have hope in the Lord, because unlike Satan, Jesus doesn’t use my sins against me to hold me captive. Instead He calls me child and welcomes me with open loving arms and says I am forgiven. There is so much more to life than to be thinking that we are useless. Jesus loves us no matter what and we need to hold on to that.

“Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer.” Romans 12:12

“Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born I set you apart; I appointed you as a prophet to the nations.” Jeremiah 1:5

Hope is found all throughout the Bible and I think the reasoning for this is that God wants to reassure us not to give up in all that we do. I believe that in order to keep our hope we must stay in prayer like Romans 12:12 says, be faithful in prayer. I think that when we are faithful in our prayers and are in communication with the Lord we can continue to find our hope in Him. To give some more reassurance read over Jeremiah 1:5 again. Did you catch that the Lord our God knew us before we were even formed in our mother’s womb? He has a plan for our life so seek Him and see what that plan is. Next time you are feeling hopeless and that you have no purpose rest assured that you can find your hope in the Lord and that He is working on the plan for your life.

As this post comes to an end there are multiple Worship songs that have been coming in and out of my head. All the songs have to deal with hope; In Christ Alone stands out the most to me out of all the songs. Right from the start of the song we sing, “In Christ alone my hope is found.” What powerful words in this song and what truth is found in them. Today I encourage you to seek Christ in all that you do, rest in the hope that is found in Him. God is constantly moving in our lives whether we know it or not, just like He had me listen to that sermon to help tie it in with todays devotion. God is good, remember that!

In Christ Alone – Owl City

__________________________

Check out:

30 Words Book

3 responses to “My hope is found in the Lord.

  1. This reminds me of Peter when he was able to walk on water as long as he keep his focus on Jesus. The moment Peter turned his focus on his circumstances he began to sink. Peter then called out to Jesus who lifted Peter out of the water and into the boat. Good post!

  2. May God continue to Bless you and yours.

Leave a Reply

