Neither hot nor cold.

Day #4

Today’s devotion was straight to the point and it was engaging from the start. Jarrid asks us questions and I think that from these questions it is allowing the reader to see where they lie before God, are they obedient or not.

We cannot live a life that is only partially obedient to God, we either go all in or not at all. Jarrid puts it simply as “partial obedience is disobedience” and it is so true you cant be obedient with part of you, it has to be all of you. When I think about all in or not at all I think of the passage in Revelation 3 where Jesus says that we are lukewarm.

“I know your deeds, that you are neither cold nor hot. I wish you were either one or the other! So, because you are lukewarm – neither hot nor cold – I am about to spit you out of my mouth.” (Revelation 3:15-16 NIV)

We are not called to be lukewarm or bland, be we are called to be obedient. It seems that a lot of “Christians” are lukewarm in their faith. What I mean by that is they are comfortable where they are at in life, things aren’t going bad but seem to be going well for now. That isn’t how we are to live we are either to be hot or cold, obedient or disobedient, there is no in-between. I like how Dr. Constable talks about what needs to be done if we are cold in order to get hot. He writes, “therefore, be zealous and repent. The only way cold people can become hot in their love for the Lord is to repent.”

I believe that repentance and obedience go hand in hand. Going to the Lord and repenting shows that we are obedient to Him. There are so many times in the Bible that obedience is spoken about and I think there is a reason for that; that we are to obey the law and God. Yet at times it is hard because of our sinful nature.

So ask yourself are you really living for God? Are you obedient to Him? Are you hot or cold? Or are you lukewarm?

3 responses to “Neither hot nor cold.

  1. Pingback: Be the change. | I am called to be...™

  2. Pingback: Surrendering is obedience in action. | I am called to be...™

  3. Pingback: Because He first showed us great compassion. | I am called to be...™

Leave a Reply

