Without Him we have nothing.

Day #3

As I read over today’s devotion I couldn’t help but see that today ties in with yesterday’s post. Although they are two different topics, I believe they have a similar point found within. That point is that Jesus is at the center of it all.

I think we have all had someone provide something for us at some point or another in life. Try to think about something that has been provided for you whether by God or by someone else. What are something’s that have been provided for you? Food? Clothing? Shelter?

As I grew up my parents and family provided me with all my needs. Similarly now that I follow Christ, He also provides for me. It is crazy to think that He provides for me but He also provides for you. It isn’t just a couple things that He provides for you and me but it is all of our needs. When it comes down to it God is our ultimate provider. No matter where we are at in life, God will always provide.

“Like any loving parent, our Heavenly Father is looking to provide for His children.” – Jarrid Wilson

God has specifically provided me with a lot over the past two years as I have been in college. He not only provided me the opportunity to attend further education but also gave the ability to fund it via my parents. Here again God and my parents are coming on my behalf and providing for me. God has provided meals for me everyday while at school and at home, He has provided a roof over my head, clothes on my back, etc. The list could go on and on but again the point here is that God is at the center of it all. He is the ultimate provider and through Him others can provide for me, as well as I provide for others.

Throughout the Bible there are countless times where God shows himself as the ultimate provider. Some of events that stick out to me where Jesus provides are found in Luke 9:10-17, Luke 14:1-6 and Matthew 15:30.

  • Jesus provides food for five thousand
    • “When the apostles returned, they reported to Jesus what they had done. Then he took them with him and they withdrew by themselves to a town called Bethsaida, but the crowds learned about it and followed him. He welcomed them and spoke to them about the kingdom of God, and healed those who needed healing. Late in the afternoon the Twelve came to him and said, “Send the crowd away so they can go to the surrounding villages and countryside and find food and lodging, because we are in a remote place here.” He replied, “You give them something to eat.” They answered, “We have only five loaves of bread and two fish—unless we go and buy food for all this crowd.” (About five thousand men were there.) But he said to his disciples, “Have them sit down in groups of about fifty each.” The disciples did so, and everyone sat down. Taking the five loaves and the two fish and looking up to heaven, he gave thanks and broke them. Then he gave them to the disciples to distribute to the people. They all ate and were satisfied, and the disciples picked up twelve basketfuls of broken pieces that were left over.” (Luke 9:10-17 NIV)
  • Jesus provides healing for the sick
    • “One Sabbath, when Jesus went to eat in the house of a prominent Pharisee, he was being carefully watched. There in front of him was a man suffering from abnormal swelling of his body. Jesus asked the Pharisees and experts in the law, “Is it lawful to heal on the Sabbath or not?” But they remained silent. So taking hold of the man, he healed him and sent him on his way. Then he asked them, “If one of you has a child or an ox that falls into a well on the Sabbath day, will you not immediately pull it out?” And they had nothing to say.” (Luke 14:1-6 NIV)
  • Jesus heals the lame, the blind, etc.
    • “Great crowds came to him, bringing the lame, the blind, the crippled, the mute and many others, and laid them at his feet; and he healed them.” (Matthew 15:30 NIV)

These are just three different accounts that stuck out to me where Jesus provided for others in the Bible. Something that Jarrid says in the devotional for today really struck something in me. He says “many of todays Christians are focused on obtaining what they want instead of being content knowing God will provide for their needs.” I think this can tie in with yesterdays post. If we try to obtain what we want, if we replace God and His power with something else we are just going to fail. We need to stay focused on the Lord. We need to be in continuous prayer and communication with Him so that our ways don’t stray away from Him and when we do this we will be able to see His work be done and how He ultimately provides for us.

“He is our ultimate provider, and without Him we are nothing more than children grabbing for things we cannot reach.” – Jarrid Wilson

I pray that after reading this you can examine your life to see what God has provided for you. I also pray that you continue to rely on Him and His goodness for He will continue to provide for you no matter how big or small. God bless.

__________________________

Check out:

30 Words Book

Leave a Reply

