Two Beautiful Exchanges.

Ephesians

As we continue on this new series on the book of Ephesians I want to encourage you to read and think over what you are reading.

I don’t know if you have noticed or not but there are two exchanges going on in chapter 2 of Ephesians. A mentor of mine mentioned that they are two beautiful exchanges. Although it may not seem beautiful, if you really dig into the word and understand what is going on they really are. Lets dig in.

Starting with verse 1 we read, “As for you, you were dead in your transgressions and sins,” let’s stop here for a quick second. When we think about this verse we realize that we have been dead since we were born which is weird to think, but it is because we were dead in a sinful way. We as humans are sinful in our very nature and it is not until we confess our sins and accept Jesus as our Lord that we are brought to life.

As we continue reading the first part of chapter 2, do you notice in verses 4 and 5 how the first exchange is being complete? Here, look at what the Word says “But because of his great love for us, God, who is rich in mercy, made us alive with Christ, even when we were dead in transgressions – it is by grace you have been saved.” We deserve nothing. That is a harsh thing to say but honestly we deserve death and an eternity in hell for all the sins that we commit but what does God do? He saves us. He gives us what we don’t deserve in an immeasurable amount. God lavishes his love and new mercies on us everyday; He sticks with his promises and gives us life!

If you go to verse 12 and read to 14 of chapter 2, you may notice another kind of exchange going on. Lets see what the word says here in verse 12 and 13, “remember that at that time you were separate from Christ excluded from citizenship in Israel and foreigners to the covenants of the promise, without hope and without God in the world. But now in Christ Jesus you who once were far away have been brought near through the blood of Christ.”

After reading about both of these exchanges it supports and solidifies my relationship with Christ Jesus. In my own life I can see both of these exchanges existing and changing. I was once dead in my sin, dead in my past but from believing in Christ and declaring that He is my Savior made me alive. I was once separate from Him because of my past and what I did but the blood He shed for me on the cross brought me near.

I encourage you today to meditate with God and just thank him for the relationship you have with him! Remember that we are children of the most high God and that we are no longer dead but are alive, and we are no longer separate from God but are near to him! God bless you today and the days to come!

Leave a Reply

