In Christ Jesus. In Christ. In Him.

Ephesians

This post kicks of the beginning of a new series that I am starting. This series is coming from the book of Ephesians. This could be taken as a bible study but it could also just be my interpretation of what I read. I will let you decide on how you take the information that I will be writing about.

Have you read the book of Ephesians? Have you paid attention to what is written, to the truth that is found in the whole book?

I’d like us to start this new series in chapter 1 of the book of Ephesians. Ephesians 1:4-10 are probably my favorite verses from this chapter, the images that come to mind when I read it are just beautiful and I encourage you to read over the passage a couple times and see what you find in it!

“Even as he chose us in him before the foundation of the world, that we should be holy and blameless before him. In love he predestined us for adoption, as sons through Jesus Christ, according to the purpose of his will, to the praise of his glorious grace, with which he has blessed us in the Beloved. In him we have redemption through his blood, the forgiveness of our trespasses, according to the riches of his grace, which he lavished upon us, in all wisdom and insight making known to us the mystery of his will, according to his purpose, which he set forth in Christ as a plan for the fullness of time, to unite all things in him, things in heaven and things on earth.” – Ephesians 1:4-10

In this chapter Paul states a set of phrases over four separate times, although the wording is different the message behind these phrases remains the same. The phrases that are repeated are: in Christ Jesus, in Christ, and in him. Now when reading through the chapter one time at first the question comes to mind is what am I too be taking from this passage? When I read it again for a second time I notice just how many times these phrases are used. Paul is putting and emphasis on the phrase to share with us that we need to put everything back into God and not ourselves.

In the 6 verses that are shared I find that there are specific things that God is throwing at me. First, in verse 4, “even as he chose us in him before the foundation of the world,” it is crazy to just take a second and think that verse over. God chose us before the making of the world! Take that in and understand that. Second, in verse 5, “according to the purpose of his will, to the praise of his glorious grace, with which he has blessed us in the Beloved” according to God’s will we are predestined to be sons through Jesus and something that keeps going through my mind, “to the praise of his glorious grace.” I think to often we take God’s grace and mercy for granted. Lastly, I just would like to say that from verse 7-10, it is some of the greatest news and encouragement.

Read over verse 7-10 again. “In him we have redemption through his blood, the forgiveness of our trespasses, according to the riches of his grace, which he lavished upon us, in all wisdom and insight making known to us the mystery of his will, according to his purpose, which he set forth in Christ as a plan for the fullness of time, to unite all things in him, things in heaven and things on earth.” When I read this it gives me chills. I cannot wrap my head around what is being said. It blows my mind how we are freely given this. We are given the ability to have redemption through his blood, we are given forgiveness for our sins. He lavishes us with grace and love and yet so often we take it for granted.

As this blog post comes to an end I just want to encourage you to go and meditate on God and His word. Also give me some feedback on what you thought about this post. I honestly am not sure how I feel about it but would love to hear what you think! Finally, push yourself to put everything back in him.

One response to “In Christ Jesus. In Christ. In Him.

  1. I am doing a verse by verse study of Ephesians on my blog right now. Currently I am in chapter 5. I have been struck by how many times Paul reminds us we are “in Christ” as well. It is who we are. Our identity should be as a follower of Christ. It is through the in dwelling of His Holy Spirit we are able to live the lives He created us to live. Be blessed and bless someone else today!

Leave a Reply

