Understanding who God is.

Keep Calm

I am called to be…prepared.

Preparation has been a huge part of my study recently. I would like to start off by saying that I’m one of the most ill prepared, laid back people you will ever meet. So, this has been hitting me like a ton of bricks. I tend to just go with the flow of things and not worry too much. However, this summer has caused me an eye-opening experience of preparation. Over the past couple months a huge question has seemingly popped up more than any ever has: Am I prepared? Over this time I keep asking, am I prepared for what? Am I prepared for football? Roll Tide. Am I prepared financially? My bills are paid. Am I prepared for school? I’m working on it slowly, but surely. But sure, these are wonderful questions, but I was missing something; but what could it be? For about a month I struggled with what I was missing. I didn’t sleep well. I was sluggish during the day. I was always in a bad mood. I read my Bible everyday. I pray daily. I go to church. So, coffee me baby, right?!

But wait… I was still missing something. And then a thunderstorm of understanding and emotion hit me. And this is what I found…I struggle with preparation in seeking Jesus and His will. I was so focused on sports, finances, and school that I had become numb and was “playing church”. Over the next couple days, I just told myself that it was normal to be distracted and overwhelmed and I will figure it out. Well that surely happened… the Lord hit me in the mouth harder than Anderson Silva when he was knocked out. My selfishness was called into question and my lifestyle was reprioritized. Everyone has a backslide, right? No. Selfish and ill prepared people have backslides.

Every single study I did was based on preparation. Am I prepared to be judged by a holy and just God? Would I be satisfied with what I have done and am doing if I were to be in front of Him at this very moment? Oh gracious no; I wouldn’t even confess to my parents and friends what I have been struggling with, much less would I want my Savior to judge me for those foolish deeds. I’ve spent time alone in tears because of my hateful and foolish life recently. I’m a good person, right? I help people, right? Yes, but I am a sinner. I was ill prepared.

Now comes the hard part. Are you ill prepared? Are you struggling with idols? This earthly “life” is simply a millisecond of our lives. Would an ALL-MIGHTY God be satisfied with your life? Would He condone your life as living like Jesus? These are the preparation questions we should be asking ourselves. Can you look at yourself in the mirror and not have a guilty face, full of regret? This is where the Lord intervened in my life. Over the next few posts, I will be going into detail about preparation according to Scripture. I hope these posts will open your eyes like the Lord has to me.

Be prepared…if God has commanded something, it will happen.

  • The Great Flood.

“Then the Lord said to Noah, “Come into the ark, you and all your household, because I have seen that you are righteous before Me in this generation. You shall take with you seven each of every clean animal, a male and his female; two each of animals that are unclean, a male and his female; also seven each of birds of the air, male and female, to keep the species alive on the face of all the earth.  For after seven more days I will cause it to rain on the earth forty days and forty nights, and I will destroy from the face of the earth all living things that I have made.” And Noah did according to all that the Lord commanded him. Noah was six hundred years old when the floodwaters were on the earth. So Noah, with his sons, his wife, and his sons’ wives, went into the ark because of the waters of the flood. Of clean animals, of animals that are unclean, of birds, and of everything that creeps on the earth, two by two they went into the ark to Noah, male and female, as God had commanded Noah. And it came to pass after seven days that the waters of the flood were on the earth. In the six hundredth year of Noah’s life, in the second month, the seventeenth day of the month, on that day all the fountains of the great deep were broken up, and the windows of heaven were opened. And the rain was on the earth forty days and forty nights. On the very same day Noah and Noah’s sons, Shem, Ham, and Japheth, and Noah’s wife and the three wives of his sons with them, entered the ark— they and every beast after its kind, all cattle after their kind, every creeping thing that creeps on the earth after its kind, and every bird after its kind, every bird of every sort. And they went into the ark to Noah, two by two, of all flesh in which is the breath of life. So those that entered, male and female of all flesh, went in as God had commanded him; and the Lord shut him in. Now the flood was on the earth forty days. The waters increased and lifted up the ark, and it rose high above the earth. The waters prevailed and greatly increased on the earth, and the ark moved about on the surface of the waters. And the waters prevailed exceedingly on the earth, and all the high hills under the whole heaven were covered. The waters prevailed fifteen cubits upward, and the mountains were covered. And all flesh died that moved on the earth: birds and cattle and beasts and every creeping thing that creeps on the earth, and every man. All in whose nostrils was the breath of the spirit of life, all that was on the dry land, died. So He destroyed all living things which were on the face of the ground: both man and cattle, creeping thing and bird of the air. They were destroyed from the earth. Only Noah and those who were with him in the ark remained alive. And the waters prevailed on the earth one hundred and fifty days. – Genesis 7

  • Peter denies Jesus.

“As Peter was below in the courtyard, one of the servant-girls of the high priest *came, and seeing Peter warming himself, she looked at him and *said, “You also were with Jesus the Nazarene.” But he denied it, saying, “I neither know nor understand what you are talking about.” And he went out onto the porch. The servant-girl saw him, and began once more to say to the bystanders, “This is one of them!” But again he denied it. And after a little while the bystanders were again saying to Peter, “Surely you are one of them, for you are a Galilean too.” But he began to curse and swear, “I do not know this man you are talking about!” Immediately a rooster crowed a second time. And Peter remembered how Jesus had made the remark to him, “Before a rooster crows twice, you will deny Me three times.” And he began to weep.” – Mark 14:66-72

 Be prepared…you will die.

  • According to Hebrews 9:27 (NASB), “And inasmuch as it is appointed for men to die once and after this comes judgment.”
  •  Also in Romans 5:12 (NKJV) it states, “Therefore, just as through one man sin entered the world, and death through sin, and thus death spread to all men, because all sinned—“

 

Be prepared…you will be judged by God Himself.

2 Corinthians 5:10 states, “For we must all appear before the judgment seat of Christ, so that each one may receive what is due for what he has done in the body, whether good or evil.”

Romans 14:12 proclaim, “So then each of us will give an account of himself to God.”

So, are you prepared for the holy, just wrath of God to be poured out on you? Preparation isn’t easy and it takes help. However, the Lord has given us the guidelines of preparation. Are you willing to do what it takes to become prepared? Are you willing to give up football? Are you willing to take 12 hours instead of 15 this semester to become more prepared for what the Lord’s will is for your life? Giving up our failed method of preparation in life, as sinners, will prepare us for what the Lord has prepared for us. We must turn to His Word. Are you willing to take a dive into the deep end with me and trust, study, and prepare for the Lord? Over the next few weeks, your preparation will be called into question, as well as mine. I hope submission to the Lord’s will and His Word can guide you to prepare for what is happening in your life and what is to come after your death. I hope as we both dive into this that we find comfort in the Lord’s pursuit of our lives and that we are prepared to give Him our undivided attention and our undivided preparation for His will for us.

Much love.

Leave a Reply

