Finding time for rest.

Bible

I am called to be…restful.

Be restful. Be grateful. Be thankful.

Something that I have been really thinking about recently is rest. As a college student you usually stay up until the wee hours of the night cramming for tests and other assignments that need to be complete before the next class. And as I am working this summer I find myself sometimes at a loss for rest because my schedule is constantly changing.

There are two sources I am pulling for this post one is a video by Jefferson Bethke and the other is the Bible. Recently, Jefferson Bethke posted a video on YouTube entitled “God’s Rest, Rhythm, & Shalom”. The video was so powerful and it brings up points that I think are important to acknowledge and understand.

As it says in Genesis 2, God rested. When was the last time you actually rested? In this day and age, everyone is up late thanks to Red Bull and Monster energy drinks.

Genesis 2:2-3 “By the seventh day God had finished the work he had been doing; so on the seventh day he rested from all his work. Then God blessed the seventh day and made it holy, because on it he rested from all the work of creating that he had done.”

There is a time and place for work. God understands that; but there is also a time for rest. He shares this with us in His word. Sometimes it is those times of rest and reflection when God reveals Himself and His promises to us. So, I encourage you today to find rest in your schedule and see what God has planned for you and your life.

2 responses to “Finding time for rest.

  1. Hi! I could have sworn I’ve visited this site before but after going through many of the articles I realized it’s
    new to me. Anyways, I’m certainly happy I stumbled upon it and I’ll be
    bookmarking it and checking back often!

  2. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to say that I have truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. After all I will be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again very soon!

Leave a Reply

