Not of this world.

Not of this world

I am called to be…not of this world.

John 15:19 “If you were of the world, the world would love you as its own; but because you are not of the world, but I chose you out of the world, therefore the world hates you.”

Let me ask you some questions. These questions may not be the deepest in thought but they are questions that are needed to be asked. What do you treasure? Do you focus more on self-satisfaction or on giving God all the glory? To you worry about the newest gadget coming out or worry about the next time you see a loved one?

Although these are simple questions they all have some sort of meaning with them. Recently I have had some experiences where I have brought myself to asking these questions and trying to figure out what I am called to be as well as if I am doing the right things.

Recently I was in conversation with someone about this and that and it was brought up that they treasured something, it was an inanimate object. I thought to myself what do they mean by “treasure”? Do they mean to put it above God? So making it like an idol or something that they look to more than God? I struggled to completely understand the meaning to this simple word.

As I pondered this situation I was thinking about how in society we constantly are trying to please ourselves. We are selfish and self-gratifying individuals. We only want ourselves to be happy. My question to you is, is God happy with what you are doing? I realize I am not the one to be asking or judging someone on this topic, I myself love my worldly possessions but there comes a time when we need to step back and see where we are in life.

Matthew 6:19-21 “Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal, but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys and where thieves do not break in and steal. For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.”

Everything that is man made and that pleases our worldly desires will not go to heaven with us. So why waste so much money and time on these? Why treasure something that cost you money when you should treasure the life freely given to you by God. Unlike phones and other worldly possessions, we humans have an expiration date. It is up to Gods timing for when we are to be called home. Now are you going to sit there and still obsess over being happy with worldly things or are you going to step out and be happy with the life God gave you and live it out to please him?

My encouragement to you today is to just take a break from all the technology, the social media, and anything else that distracts us from God. And just sit down, witness the magnificent creation that is all around you and just be thankful for what God has given to you and what he will give to you in the future. This is why I am called to be not of this world!

Leave a Reply

