Secure

Anchor

“Hold on.”

I am called to be… secure.

What is your greatest insecurity? Is it your weight, the number of freckles on your face, or the way you stumble across your words when you get nervous? Us girls tend to turn every little flaw we find into our ultimate source of anxiety and self-doubt. Lately, the Lord has been teaching me that I have no reason to be insecure when I am secure in Him.

We often find our biggest insecurities within ourselves. We build up scenarios in our minds where everyone else knows about these things and we’re sure that’s all they’re paying attention to as well. The first step to overcoming these doubts about ourselves is recognizing that we were designed by the hands of the Almighty God, who makes no mistakes. Psalm 139 says, “13 For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. 14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.” We’re also told in Genesis 1:27 that we are created in the image of God. This means that the creator of the world formed us in His likeness, imprinting His image on each of us uniquely. We have no reason to be insecure with ourselves when we realize that we are creations of our flawless God.

Even as I’m writing this today, the Lord is teaching me how to be secure about my future. I know that He has everything planned out and that I can trust Him, but the actual process of letting go of my worry is where I often get stuck. However, just as I know strongly that He has called me to my major and career path, I also know He has called me to be secure about those decisions and place total control into His hands. Jeremiah 29:11 reminds us that God knows the plans for our future; we only need to give Him our trust. We can also find comfort for our worry in Romans 8:28, “28 And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.” We don’t have to be insecure about what the future holds because we know who holds our future.

Think about the relationships in your life. Is there something that you could do that would make those people never forgive you? We as humans tend to hurt one another. Whether with our words or with actions, it is possible to break a relationship to the point where it cannot be repaired. The great thing about God is that this rule doesn’t apply to Him. You can never go so far away from Him that He will not welcome you back into His arms. His love for us is relentless. As my favorite Campus Band song says, “Lord, Your love it runs so deep….You don’t give up on me.” Psalm 103: 3-4 says, “He forgives all my sins and heals all my diseases. He saves my life from the grave and loads me love and mercy.” Wow. Even after we hurt the Almighty God with our sinfulness, He never stops forgiving us and He promises to lavish us with His love and mercy. I don’t know about you, but I know I have absolutely no reason to be insecure about my salvation.

I hope this post has encouraged you to find security in Christ. He has been teaching me to be secure in myself, in my future, and in my salvation. Throw insecurity out the window and be confident in who the Lord has called you to be.

Leave a Reply

